Is American Idol really OVERRATED?


On Saturday, I took a bike ride to West Windsor, NJ, and I flipped on their high school radio station, WWPH, and I heard one of the two guys that were on the radio saying that American Idol is a bad tv show to watch. How offensive is that? Not for me, but if this was a more powerful radio station, tons of people would start complaining about that kind of remark. Luckily it’s only a 10 watt station so that guy was lucky. It was a prerecorded show, which actually aired on the day before. Still, to hear all those radio shows looped throughout the day and that particular topic is brought up, it must be annoying to hear every time, especially if you truly enjoy watching American Idol as much as I do. Well, here’s what the guy said, “I just think American Idol is just overrated. All the good singers are voted off and the bad singers that look good are the ones that make it through to the finals.” Well, let me get this straight, American Idol is NOT overrated. I don’t need rude remarks like that. They are making improvements during each season. In fact, during the first round (the top 16 I think), the bottom 6 got to sing one more time and were then hand picked by the judges. There were 4 out of the 6 that made it through. Also, as with previous seasons, the singers are allowed one save, in which the person has to sing one last time to decide whetver or not he/she should really stay in the competition. Even if that save is used up, that does not mean that the viewers are dependent on the best looking person. They do listen to what the judges say and there has never been a crappy American Idol singer in the finals. Carrie Underwood made it big, and Adam Lambert did really well during the past season, even though he lost to Kris Allen. Kris Allen took a direction that attracted younger viewers in their tweens, and a YouTube friend that is also a big American Idol fan messaged me about that by the way. He had a voice that matched his looks, and it certainly was NOT a pitchy voice. He could sing, and he wouldn’t have made it that far if he didn’t. Also, there is no discrimination in the show at all. It doesn’t matter if a singer is gay, nor does it matter if a singer went the wrong direction with his/her songs because of race. The judges went through hours of decision making to pick the top singers that would stay in Hollywood, and there was a hundred of singers that made it in the beginning. I bet that they didn’t even get any sleep when they were making the final decision either.

Another thing I would like to say, is or is American Idol not the highest rated reality show right now? I don’t know, I might be wrong. Maybe the fact that Simon Cowell left is getting too much through everyone’s heads. Maybe people are hating American Idol just because he’s gone! I mean, he actually used analogies to characterise people’s singing. He’s British so that made perfect sense. He was also very funny, he actually had more bad things to say than good things. Will American Idol ever be the same without him? I don’t think any judge could replace Simon. Maybe that’s going to change the voting turnout and maybe that will change the competition a little bit. I still believe that the best singer is going to win in the end regardless of the turnaround.

When that radio DJ goes in the professional world, he will ABSOLUTELY not bring that topic up again. If he does, he’ll probably get banned from his radio show and he’ll upset thousands of American Idol fans. Keep that in mind. I won’t be a critic, but I just wanted to throw this thing out there.

About jhirzel88

I am majoring in college to be a computer programmer. My favorite food is Buffalo wings. My hobbies include bike riding, listening to the radio, and watching YouTube videos. I used to play piano and guitar. I got my first internet working computer (which is this laptop right here), in Novemeber, 2008. I hope to achieve the use of this blog in the best possible way I can. By the way, my favorite animal is the Amazon Parrot and I really want to get one in a few years down the road. Edit: I decided that I'm definitely getting a Raven as a pet, that is, after I finish college.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is American Idol really OVERRATED?

  1. It’s a show that entertains and discover talents

    • jhirzel88 says:

      Yes, I watch it all the time. Of course I know what the show is about! Obviously! That’s too funny. I’m glad you know what the show is about though. It’s more about singing though than pure talent. Remember, it’s a singing competition and nothing else. Granted, there is talent that some singers possess such as guitar playing and things like that, but that does not affect the chances of winning.

  2. Simon will be missed. I think even Paula despite of her ” huh?” moments were all part of the package. In the long run the familiar faces will be gone and it will never be the same again. I hope the talents will better though as the years go by. there so much talented young artists out there.

    • jhirzel88 says:

      Well, it’s going to be Simon that’ll be deeply missed! Remember when he said “absolute rubbish”? That was like…the most impressive thing he says. I can only remember a handful of quotes. As for Paula, she did have a lot to say to Simon but I believe the attraction between them was just to better entertain the audience. The media stepped right in and pretty much lied about the fact that they liked each other.

      I can recall Paula as someone who really couldn’t afford to see someone get upset. That’s the best thing I can remember about her.

      The sequence of the show will never change, the rules will stay the same (for the most part). I do believe that new singers will get better after each season and more people will start realizing that it’s more than just a viewer’s choice. All of these singers still get a shot in the record industry even if they lose in the beginning rounds.

Leave a Reply

