Bagel on ground, uneaten by any birds


I was bike riding to my mom’s shop on the ground 3 days ago when I saw a bagel on the side of the road. I was on the main road before I got to the shopping center parking lot. I saw a bitten bagel on the ground. It appeared that it had only been biten into once. There was also a brown bag next to it. Well, anyways, I thought that a bird would have eaten it when I came back yesterday but it didn’t. I bike rode past it again and the bagel was all green and moldy. I came back to take a closer look after I left the shop and it was completely intact, just the way it was with the one bite mark. I couldn’t believe it! There were no house sparrows because this is a rural area, but there were other birds in the area. I’m sure that there are other birds besides house sparrows that eat stuff like that. I mean, bagels are bread right? Don’t most birds eat bread? Even a crow could have eaten it, because I think there were crows in the area. Actually, that bagel may have been donut because it appeared soft when I kicked it. Maybe the rain that we got the day just made it soggy.  I even heard a songbird chirping in the tree next to where the bagel was, so obviously, if it had been hungry, it would have eaten it, but it didn’t. Are grains part of a songbird’s diet? Perhaps it’s not even part of its diet, so that could be one reason. Now, another reason why the donut hadn’t been eating may be because a bird may have missed it. A third reason could be that the bagel was too close to traffic and any bird would be too nervous to get that close to moving cars. Now, I felt sick to my stomach for about 10 minutes after I first saw the moldy “donut”. After I came in contact with some customers for 20 minutes, I stopped thinking about it. I also saw the ice cream shop owner next to us get out of his car with his cool sun glasses. He had his hot looking daughter next to him too. I smiled at that. Laughing at things customers said made me feel good.

I remember my grandpa dropping a bagel that he didn’t finish near a lake. I wonder if that bagel even got eaten? That’s one other thing that made me think about this event. I took a 6 minute video of the rotten bagel on my cell phone. Here it is here.

About jhirzel88

I am majoring in college to be a computer programmer. My favorite food is Buffalo wings. My hobbies include bike riding, listening to the radio, and watching YouTube videos. I used to play piano and guitar. I got my first internet working computer (which is this laptop right here), in Novemeber, 2008. I hope to achieve the use of this blog in the best possible way I can. By the way, my favorite animal is the Amazon Parrot and I really want to get one in a few years down the road. Edit: I decided that I'm definitely getting a Raven as a pet, that is, after I finish college.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bagel on ground, uneaten by any birds

  1. eof737 says:

    You ask good question… as in my area, the birds jump on everything and especially in NYC. Maybe these were birds whose lives were abundant with worms and other goodies that they didn’t need to die for a stinky doughnut or bagel… Who knows? Interesting though .;-)

    • jhirzel88 says:

      I agree with what you are saying. However, someone else, and his YouTube username is darian03, told me this statement before I posted this blog….I’ll copy and paste it to you,

      “Some birds won’t eat things that are big. It is hard for them to peck. Large things intimidate birds. It is too time consuming and they might feel that it is not safe.”

      Do you agree with that? I was thinking that next time I find a bagel or a doughnut on the side of the road, I will just toss it at a tree. I’ll probably just place it on a tree branch. That way it doesn’t rot and a few birds might find it. Then if that fails, I’ll crumble it up first, but I’ll just leave it on the road just to see if that YouTube user was actually right. I simply want to experiment with this, because that’s the only way I can get this bagel thing out of my head for good. If both attempts fail, then I know he’s wrong and that these birds already find so many insects and seeds in their diets that they won’t eat anything else.

  2. eof737 says:

    That was meant to read: You ask good questions… TY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

