Closing up the Bird-Feeding Activities


I would just like to say, I am no longer allowed to feed my birds in my backyard. My mom has been very upset that I was still sneaking cupcakes outside and it has to end. In order to prevent me from doing that, from now on, I will be waking up early with her every day to go to work. The only time I will be home is at night when my siblings are home. The fact is, she doesn’t want me attracting insects, not be mention rats and other unwanted pests. It’s not about the fact that the cupcakes aren’t good for them. My grandma explained that she doesn’t care enough about the birds to think that. The difference between feeding the birds cupcakes and feeding them bird seed is that the bird seed doesn’t attract insects. It is only for the birds. If you put out any kind of food item outside, you have to be aware of what kinds of animals are out there, and what they are looking for. Even if you put a tiny amount of food out and the birds do eat them, there’s going to be other animals around that were attracted by the scent, even if they are far away. That is exceptionally important when the food is in a rural forest, which is abundant in wildlife. The fact is, animals can be conditioned to eat these foods, then they will not know how to find their own food and they will be reliant on us to feed them all the time. In the long run, that will cause starvation at a large scale in areas where there are no people around. Birds take several years to become conditioned, but birds are not the only animals in that forest. There are also squirrels, raccoons, skunk, deer, and other animals I can’t name. Well, I think the Yellow-Rumped Warblers are already conditioned, because they were even eating french fries the second time I put them out about a week ago but they weren’t eating them a few weeks ago. As a result, those warblers have to die and I must kill them. A few days ago, I have already poisoned their icing with laundry detergent, dishwasher soap, and wood cleaners . Once I see them dead on the ground, I swear to God, I am going to take them out of the forest, and throw them at the wall of the house, and stuff icing in their beaks. My mom will think that the sugar in the cupcakes killed them. I will take it one step further though. Why should I stop there? I am going to hide all the icing in their beaks, that way my mom won’t find them. Then, I’ll take some out later. Well, I probably won’t go that far. I haven’t gone back yet to check on them because I have been going to my grandparents’ house instead of going back to mom’s. I have been feeding the birds cupcakes there instead, not poisoned cupcakes of course.

Here is part 1 to my 2-part video of me killing those warblers.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RQe6CiJQsU&w480&h=360]
About jhirzel88

I am majoring in college to be a computer programmer. My favorite food is Buffalo wings. My hobbies include bike riding, listening to the radio, and watching YouTube videos. I used to play piano and guitar. I got my first internet working computer (which is this laptop right here), in Novemeber, 2008. I hope to achieve the use of this blog in the best possible way I can. By the way, my favorite animal is the Amazon Parrot and I really want to get one in a few years down the road. Edit: I decided that I'm definitely getting a Raven as a pet, that is, after I finish college.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Closing up the Bird-Feeding Activities

  1. I felt bad when you said the warblers were poisoned. Don’t they deserve to live like any other creatures? I kind of like birds and it saddens me that they died.

    • jhirzel88 says:

      Yes, they do deserve to live. Well, here’s the thing. I just spoke to Darian03, who is a great YouTube friend of mine. He explained that the warblers find lots of wax berries to store so that they can fly elsewhere. It’s like fuel for your car. You know how you gas up all the way to the max to go to places? You put a lot in from the start, that way you can travel further. The same thing goes with warblers. Warblers, just like other animals, do not eat for pleasure. They only eat for “survival”. People are the only animals that eat for pleasure. That made me feel a lot better and as a result, those warblers will continue living their lives, just like before. I never changed those birds’ eating habits. It’s just that I thought that they were conditioned, but that takes years to do. It’s impossible for that to happen anyways because there are thousands of warblers in that forest and the same warblers aren’t eating the icing every day. They find food where it is convenient.

      I like birds too, but the truth is, wouldn’t you be sad if you couldn’t eat something that tasted sooooo good? I thought these birds would be sad because they wouldn’t be able to eat icing no more. I couldn’t stand thinking about that, and that’s why I had to kill them. It’s too late now, they are already dead. I’m sorry. I won’t poison any more warblers though, that’s it. I’m done.

  2. eof737 says:

    Hi Jeremy, I hope this is all in jest as all living forms deserve a chance at life… and you have fed the birds too… Hope so.

    • jhirzel88 says:

      I spoke with a YouTube friend of mine and he explained everything. They will forget the taste of the icing. They don’t care about taste. They only eat to survive, just like all other animals.

      I won’t kill any other warblers. It’s impossible anyways because the same warblers weren’t eating the icing. It appeared as if there was only 15 warblers eating it. However, there are hundreds, maybe even thousands of warblers in that forest. They manage.

  3. Just saying Hi and thank you for the recent comment. Have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Hope life is all well with you my friend. Just want to say Hi and thanks for the last comment.

Leave a Reply

